Becoming Balanced

I’m going to get really open here. Being a Mommy can seriously impede my focused “moving forward” in life. Maybe it’s just me. Maybe you don’t have the problem. But it has been a challenge for me to make sure my kids are getting the time the Lord would have them receive from “Mommy,” yet still pursue my own interests.

After some struggle with balancing all my commitments, I decided to drop every personal interest and focus on my family. Not a bad choice in and of itself. But it didn’t feel quite right, especially after musing on certain elements I’d been told previously about my gifts and talents.

I’m still trying to figure it out. But here’s now how my day goes:

  • Get up and teach seminary in the wee hours of the day.
  • Come home and sneak back into bed for an hour or two for a few more zzzzz’s. :0)
  • Get up with my kids and get breakfast.
  • Start our homeschool (we have a BLAST with this and my 11 year old daughter has decided she is now a geographer–she has discovered she’s quite gifted in learning and retaining knowledge about the world, it’s countries, cultures, and people! Seeing the light shine in her eyes is a delight for me).
  • Finish in time for lunch.
  • Run errands and/or pick up my son from the high school. Let him practice driving for 30 minutes or so before heading home (wooooooh, is he 15 already????)
  • Clean the house.
  • Start dinner.
  • Figure out how to squeeze in writing (but now I’m a bit pooped, plus have piano lessons and a seminary lesson to do/prepare).

Still trying to figure this all out. But I’m finding that the more I am organized, the easier it is to pull out a file and get going on a story project. (So now I only have five more boxes of creative works to go through to finish that organization. Wish me luck! ).

Feel Free to Leave a Reply

