I’m always surprised at the difference in my life when I’m reading my scriptures versus when I am not. I sometimes mused if the difference was simply a contented feeling of “obedience.”

Yet it is more, much more, than just a great feeling of checking off scripture study for the day on a long list of “to-do”s. There is so much more to it. Scripture study isn’t just an obedience-thing; it is instead a radio-reception thing.

What I mean is that the more I read my scriptures, the more sensitive I am to the quiet still voice of the Spirit. By picking up the living word each day, I am tuning my soul to the eternal direction of God’s will for my life. As I do so, I get better and better at hearing His voice in my life.

It’s a cool thought.

Feel Free to Leave a Reply

