On Down Days

Today was one of my low energy days. You might know the kind, where the fatigue is so great that you have to spend it in bed.

So I pulled out my scriptures and began reading, prowling from page to page in no certain order. I stumbled across (or perhaps was led to?) Doctrine and Covenants 101:38:

And seek the face of the Lord always, that in patience ye may possess your souls, and ye shall have eternal life.

The word seek in the phrase seek the face of the Lord always caught my eye, and I began cross referencing similar verses. What I found helped me greatly, on this low energy day.

If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face,…then will I hear from heaven,…(2 Chronicles 7:14).

The cross-referencing also led me to Amos 5:6. Oh, how I love these Old Testament prophets. How diligently they sought to declare God’s words, to warn of pending judgments, and to witness of the Lord’s love for all. Here is a phrase that is repeated throughout Amos 5:

“Seek ye me, and ye shall live…” (Amos 5:4).

“Seek the Lord, and ye shall live;…” (vs 6).

“Seek good, and not evil, that ye may live…” (vs 14).

“…love good, and establish judgment in the gate;… (vs 15).

“…let judgment runs down as waters, and righteousness as a mighty stream” (vs 24).

I realized after cross-referencing these scriptures (and more) that even though my physical body may fatigue at times, that when I seek the Lord through scripture study, my spiritual “body” can revive the physical through the grace of God, bringing life and joy.

So not a bad day after all – even though I needed to spend it in bed!

2 thoughts on “On Down Days

Feel Free to Leave a Reply

