A Denial of Divinity

Wow. Look at this quote. It quite moved me today when I read it at Meridian Magazine:

It is a denial of the divinity within us to doubt our potential and our possibilities (“The Responsibility for Welfare Rests with Me and My Family,” Ensign, May 1986).

The next time I doubt my potential, I’ll be thinking about this quote. What about you?

As a matter of fact, I’ve been thinking a lot recently about my roles here on earth. In the past I’ve viewed myself in different ways. When I was “gigging” in lounges, country clubs, etc., I had the time of my life and I viewed myself as a vocalist. When I was performing on stage as an actress and in films, I viewed myself as an actress. Later, when I was composing and writing stage productions, I viewed myself as a composer and playwright.

I could list a myriad of roles I’ve been in (no pun intended). But I guess that’s not the point. The point is that at times I’ve been confused with all the opportunities I’ve had in the past. At times I look at it all and wonder if, when I return to the judgment bar of God, if He’ll be pleased with my endeavors or disappointed I didn’t do more.

The most important “role” I’ve ever played is that of wife and mother, alongside being a daughter of God. It is imperative I never lose sight of this, even in the midst of all the other activities of my life. And then that’s when the self-doubt enters in. Has it all been good enough? And the discouragement seeks to implode my efforts.

So the helpfulness of “It is a denial of the divinity within us to doubt our potential…” greatly helps me. Next time I sit wondering what I should do next, I’ll remember that regardless of what I do, I must not deny the divinity which God placed firmly within me as His child.

Feel Free to Leave a Reply

