BOOK REVIEW – Prayers That Bring Miracles

I received a free book in the mail recently from a publisher requesting that I read the book, Prayers That Bring Miracles by Stephen M. Bird, and consider writing a review. I never know how these experiences will go. Honestly, there are some books I do not feel hold up to the premise stated on the book’s cover.

For example, on the back cover of Prayers That Bring Miracles:

“As I read Prayers That Bring Miracles, I knew almost instantly that this is a book for which many people are hungering….Rarely have I read a work that touched my spiritual senses so deeply.” – Julie Davis Jensen, book evaluator

Prayers That Bring Miracles opened my mind to the magnitude of possibilities through prayer. I no longer go through a ritual for the sake of obedience, but look forward to the answers and direct guidance that I once thought only a few were privileged to experience in this life.” – Michael Strode, real estate agent

There are other endorsement on the back of the book equally as glowing. Thus, I was curious as I began reading the book for myself whether or not the book could live up to this kind of exuberant reviews.

Now that I have spent time with this book myself, I know why the reviews were so positive. The author Stephen M. Bird’s words and his approach to the sacred matter of prayer have changed my life.

That simply put!

This book has changed my life. From the story entitled, “Chaplain, You’ll Never Believe What Happened,” to teaching me to better trust the prayer/answer process, to understanding why it is the Lord answers prayers, I love this book.

In fact, I kept waiting for something not to like. Reviewers are supposed to do that, you know. Find at least one thing that is yuck about the book and mention it to appear that you are balanced. I find that approach to reviewing books ridiculous when there isn’t anything to quibble with during the reading.

That’s how this book moved for me. I read chapters, stopped, pondered the meaning. OK, well, here perhaps could be one complaint. And yet it is not a complaint…it is a call for spiritual maturity. If you’re wanting a quick read, one that doesn’t challenge you, this book is NOT for you. These chapters cannot be read swiftly. That would be like eating in a $500/plate restaurant, but staying only long enough for the lemon-with-water glass brought at the beginning of the meal.

No, Stephen M. Bird’s book is to be read slowly. Pondered. Experimented with. Just the chapter “The Road to Faith in God” was worth the entire exposure to the book. He delineates how to get rid of skepticism, one of the biggest impediments to sensing answers from God and to receiving them. That chapter is worth the entire book.

But would I want only that chapter? No. I would want the whole book. And now that I have it, I give thanks for the opportunity given me to review it.

Here are the chapters contained in this book. Read this list and consider if this book doesn’t belong on your bookshelf or especially the bookshelf of someone you know who is struggling with “why doesn’t God answer my prayers?” The chapter titles may appear simplistic, but their content is anything but.

“Chaplain You’ll Never Believe What Happened”
“God Is Your Father”
“Approach Him Reverently”
“Submit to Your Father First”
“Request Specific Blessings in Faith”
“Remembering Our Father’s Son”
“The Road to Faith in God”
“The Blessings of Faith in God”
“The Importance of Faith in God’s Will”

Remember those glowing reviews? I now want to add mine. You can find this book online at Amazon.

Feel Free to Leave a Reply

