THE SAPPHIRE FLUTE – Review

Karen Hoover is an author with a heart of compassion and inventive playfulness, all wrapped up in delight. I met Karen Hoover at an event for writers several years ago. At that time, she told me of a manuscript she had worked on for years, but was having trouble finding a publisher.

Imagine my delight when this year I heard her happy news. THE SAPPHIRE FLUTE: Book One The Wolfchild Saga had been picked up by Valor Publishing. Recently I received an ARC (advanced reader’s copy) to review here. I received the copy for free and when it came in the mail, I remember holding it and thinking back to my discussion with Karen so long ago about her two characters in this story, and how long she’d been nursing them to life.

Before I mention more, though, about the book or the author, I want to share a quote she’d given recently at Valor Publishing’s own blog spot. When asked what her advice was for young writers, Karen shared a favorite quote from author Ginny Smith:

“God has plans for your writing, and they are better than any plans you have for yourself. Let Him be in charge and let Him delight you with what He has in store.”

Karen Hoover’s inspiration comes from her God and it shows in her writing. Not that THE SAPPHIRE FLUTE is a religious book. Far from it. It falls squarely in the category of fantasy for teens and pre-teens alike. Here is the information from the back cover:

“It has been 3000 years since a white mage has been seen upon Rasann.

“In the midst of a volcanic eruption miles outside of her village, Ember discovers she can see magic and change the appearance of things at will. Against her mother’s wishes, she leaves for the mage trials, only to be kidnapped before arriving. In trying to escape, she discovers she has inherited her father’s secret–a secret that places her in direct conflict with her father’s greatest enemy.

“At the same time, Kayla is given guardianship of the Sapphire Flute and told not to play it. The evil mage C’Tan has been searching for it for decades, and the sound alone is enough to call her. For the flute to be truly safe, Kayla must find its birthplace in the mountains high above Javak.

“The girls’ paths are set on a collision course . . . and C’Tan will do whatever it takes to keep them from fulfilling their destiny.”

My first impression of the book came from my children. My son in particular was fascinated. We began reading the story out loud together. But soon, he was carrying the book everywhere. He read it once. Then he read it again. Then he read it again. And when he wasn’t reading it, he was carrying it everywhere (we put a stop at it coming with us to church).

Is this a book to recommend to kids? Absolutely! I am thrilled for Karen. Her story which had been nestled for 17 years in her heart now is in print for many to read. Here is where you can get your own copy.

The only qualm or quandary about the book? It is a seven-book series…which means that not all plot twists are resolved (obviously) in the first book. So Karen, please get those fingers typing as fast as you can. We want to know this story from the front of it . . . all the way to the very end!

3 thoughts on “THE SAPPHIRE FLUTE – Review

  1. Cindy, I've waited for twelve hours to comment on your blog, because I was just so touched I didn't know what to say. You brought me to tears last night. My lifelong dream with writing has been to make a difference and hearing about your son made me feel as if I might have done something right.Thank you so much for the lovely blog and all your wonderful comments. 🙂

Feel Free to Leave a Reply

