Review: Awakening Avery, by Laurie Lewis

I cried today. But not for the reasons you might expect. I did so upon finishing Laurie Lewis’ newest book, Awakening Avery.

I didn’t cry because of the plot points, the characters’ angst, or any part of the story itself. I cried because after reading the book, I realized I have thrown away so much of my life.

Let me explain. I lived just barely north of the main setting of the book (Sarasota, Florida) for 12 years. Do you know I only went to the beach three times during that decade-long-plus era of my life? And it was in this realization that the impact of this book has made itself known in my life.

The main protagonist in the story, Avery Thompson, will forever live on in my life as the inspiration for complete change. I now choose to stop living my life in fear. I choose to stop avoiding life’s experiences. I choose to visit “the beaches” in my life by simply enmeshing myself in the sand they offer and enjoying the experience.

All too often I think we as mortals keep ourselves tightly encased in glass cases, afraid to experience pain. This was what Avery was doing in the story during the first year after her husband’s death. As I watched her evolution, I realized that in many ways throughout my whole life, I’ve mirrored her fear.

No longer. And I count myself fortunate to have read this story. A few typos, sure. A few tweaks, sure. But what book doesn’t have that? This is a book I will remember having read years from now, and I pray that my choice today to “go to the beach” and stop fearing the sands of life will reap beautiful memories of a life well lived when my life is done. Thank you, Laurie, for Awakening Avery. Thank you, Laurie, for awakening me.

Here’s how you, the reader, can get your own copy! I think it will change you in ways you’ll forever celebrate.

Awakening Avery

You can learn more about Awakening Avery and Laurie Lewis on her website: www.laurielclewis.com and her blog: A View From the Other Side of the Hill.

3 thoughts on “Review: Awakening Avery, by Laurie Lewis

  1. Thank you for stopping by, Laurie. I’m so happy to have been able to review Awakening Avery. Now I’m just trying to figure out how to go visit Florida before the summer’s done! 🙂

Feel Free to Leave a Reply

